Study Method Suggestions?

Hi all! I’m totally new to coding and am just getting rolling with the coursework. If I were in college, I would take notes, make flash cards, etc. Would you suggest that type of study, or does the coursework go over everything enough times that it’s not necessary? Some online courses tend to mention something once in passing and expect you to know it forever, others repeat a lot. Notes would be much more beneficial in a course designed like the former and less necessary in the latter. Just not sure which of those examples freecodecamp resembles.

I appreciate any and all input!

That’s so fantastic. Really appreciate it!

++ to what P1xt says about taking notes.

Two other things that are helping me a bunch: Mark Myers’ A Smarter Way to Learn JavaScript and flashcards.

The Myers book comes with online practice exercises that are great for giving you immediate practice and feedback. I generally do the Myers chapters first, then complete the corresponding FCC challenge.

As for the flashcards, I’ve been writing my own using AnkiApp. I write the flashcards into the app on my laptop as I’m learning and then I try to review the cards at least twice a day. Amazing how much faster you can code when you you have memorized the methods and syntax.

4 Likes

Awesome, thank you @heidikana & @P1xt!

Now i just need to get my parents to buy me the book.

You really can’t say ‘take notes’ too many times, haha.

I’ve been doing Javascript algorithms basically every day for a while now, and this is what I do to really juice the experience. I make a ‘worksheet’ in a word processor to organize my notes, and make sure I’m noting the right things. If you’re like me, and you’re super OCD about not getting the most of these lessons, this worksheet might work for you.

My worksheet has the following headings:

WHAT I DID YESTERDAY - Here, I review/link to problems and challenges I did yesterday so I can make sure I can still do them today.