Summing Columns by Date in SQL

My apologies if this is a redundant question but I’m new to SQL - as in I’ve never worked with it/never taken a course. I was tasked with this by my new boss so I’m giving it an honest go. Anywho, here is what I’m trying to do.

I have the info I’m looking for, I’m just trying to manipulate it. Here is my query thus far:

SELECT       SalesOrderHeader.SUBDIVISION as Subdivision, SalesOrderHeader.BillToName AS Builder, WorkTicket.WTNumber, SalesOrderDetail.JT158_WTNumber, SalesOrderDetail.ItemCode,WorkTicket.DATE_SCHEDULED as ScheduledDate, WorkTicket.WTStep

FROM            SalesOrderHeader INNER JOIN
                         SalesOrderDetail ON SalesOrderHeader.SalesOrderNo = SalesOrderDetail.SalesOrderNo INNER JOIN
                         WorkTicket ON SalesOrderHeader.SalesOrderNo = WorkTicket.SalesOrderNo AND SalesOrderDetail.WTNumber = WorkTicket.WTNumber

WHERE        (SalesOrderDetail.WTParent = 'y') AND (SalesOrderDetail.ItemCode IN ('zroughin', 'ztopout', 'ztrim')) AND (WorkTicket.DATE_SCHEDULED <> '1753-01-01') AND 
                         (WorkTicket.WTStep = '000')

GROUP BY {fn YEAR(WorkTicket.DATE_SCHEDULED)}, {fn MONTH(WorkTicket.DATE_SCHEDULED)}, SalesOrderHeader.SUBDIVISION, SalesOrderHeader.BillToName, WorkTicket.WTNumber, SalesOrderDetail.WTNumber, SalesOrderDetail.ItemCode, WorkTicket.DATE_SCHEDULED, WorkTicket.WTStep

This gives me the following:

What I want to do is count the ItemCode column and see the total of each one separated by month. I.E. there were 2 ZROUGHINs, 6 ZTOPOUT, and 8 ZTRIM in July and 6 ZROUGHINs, 4 ZTOPOUT, and 2 ZTRIM in August.

I tried to use Count(sum(ItemCode)) in several different places in the query but got an error saying I could not use aggregate functions inside aggregate functions.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

SQL Windows functions might be usefull here.
https://drill.apache.org/docs/sql-window-functions-introduction/