Survey Form using Grid

Hey guys,

Newbie here…
I decided to use css grid for creating the survey form, and not simply the attribute.
But I still like my work. Now the only thing is that I can’t align the name/email/age textboxes to the words on the left. Does someone know of a solution?

Many thanks!

Sebastiaan

Good effort.
You should use labels and input fields for the name, age, email section.

Also submit does nothing.

You messed it up with all margin-top’s, here’s how you gonna fix it:

ul, li{
  padding-left: 0px;
  margin: 0px;
}

#name1 ul li {
            list-style-type: none;
            margin-top: 0px;
 }

#input ul li {
            list-style-type: none;
            margin-top: 0px;
        }

And if you want to move them closer together, second “parameter” in grid gap you must modify, second ‘XXXpx’ into number until it you get desired effect.

grid-gap: XXXpx XXXpx;

good attempt , page looks clean. The reason why your alignment dosent work because your grid column is taking up the space if you inspect with google doc. I recommend removing the columns in the grid as you do not need them because by default the labels and inputs are already side by side with each other.

Secondly , avoid using descendent and ids in css #name1 ul li because this can mess up the specificity and make ur css code messy as well. use classes, even for 1 element give it a class and stick to using classes in css. The reason because classes are reusable and have the same specificity. Having the same specificity , gives u an easier time to override code.

If you want to use descendant ul li for example use at most one level

Thank you!
Okay so I deleted all margin-top etc. and just entered a break to have space in between. Now it’s correctly aligned. I might change that grid element into a grid of its own and then change the row gap as you suggested, but that 'll just make it a little too complicated for now.