Taking notes whilst learning new language? Or take mental notes?

Hey everyone! I am new to coding, and I am wondering what your approach is when it comes to learning a new language?
I have been taking a lot of notes in my notebook as I complete each task, but I notice it taking a long time to take such notes. Is it necessary to remember every little detail when it comes to coding, or do you just need to understand how it works?
I hope this makes sense? THANKS!

1 Like

@parrythunder I think taking notes is good practice, since for beginners its a good referral to go back to when you get stumped and second it always helps me remember things when I write them down (like a grocery list)… Some people have photographic memories and can remember something from first glance (which I envy HA!) :slight_smile:

If you write it down enough times it’ll get engraved in your brain where it’ll become second nature.

4 Likes

Thanks for getting back to me @justdavis83!! I’ll keep writing notes! ha

I also tend to take a lot of notes in my notebook. It does take a long time, but it is nice to be able to refer to them in the future when you forget what some code block looks like or what something does. I recently started taking notes in Microsoft OneNote instead of by hand. This is nice because you can type it and then take screenshots of code snippets and store them for later. OneNote comes with Microsoft Office if you use that software, but there are plenty of free options for note taking on the internet as well.

2 Likes

I’m going to weigh in on the other side. I don’t take notes when I’m working on something new. I like to focus as much as I can on the actual coding at hand rather than swapping back and forth between screen and notebook (or app to app on the screen if you’re taking notes that way). If I reach something that I’m having trouble with and I find a really good, concise resource on it through Googling, I bookmark it for future use.