Terrified of live coding interview questions

Hello everyone,

So I’ve been told that I would need to complete a 30 live coding exercise on HackerRank. The thought of this literally sends me into panic. The fact that I’ve already once missed out on a job opportunity because of failing on HackerRank doesn’t help matters. The really frustrating part is that I am actually a seasoned developer, but in the last 14 years I’ve had to do live coding only twice, and I never do well under time pressure. I always like to think things out and work them out on paper before coding a solution, and I definitely take more than 10 minutes per problem (the allocated time limit for HacerRank). I’ve recently moved to the Bay Area, and it seems like EVERY coding job requires live coding during the interview process. It’s just so frustrating.

So has anyone else had trouble with live coding exercises? Did you succeed or fail? Please share why? For those who failed were you still able to continue further in the interview process, or did it end right there? Any feedback and/or advice is most welcome.

Looking forward to all of your responses.

Leon

8 Likes

Hi! You can train live coding interviews for free on www.pramp.com :wink:

14 Likes

Wow that is a terrific service! Thank you so much!

1 Like

Thanks P1xt, those are all great, great points. In fact, I am putting them into my phone right now so I can use them for quick reference in the future!

OMG you are totally right! That’s the question I bombed one during my last attempt! That and forgetting the modulus operator :neutral_face:

Thank you for the link, gonna start today!