Thank you Community - I just got my first Front-End Web Developer Job. Here's my story :)

9 Months. 9 Months (Sept. 2017) since I graduated from University and entered the real-world. I had such a naive outlook on the job market and limited knowledge of its competitive environment. I tried so many angles on getting back up to the Bay Area to work as a Front-End Web Developer. Recently after announcing my achievement on Twitter, I was encouraged by Quincy to share my story here. I hope that I can inspire and motivate others to keep pushing and to NEVER, EVER GIVE UP. Let’s begin!

The Beginning

My coding journey got serious when I started to feel lost, yearning for direction post-grad. I tried creating side projects and watching tutorials, but I never felt fulfilled or had a true purpose. One afternoon I was searching the web for motivation and success stories…how did people achieve such a feat? It wasn’t until I discovered Lupe Camacho’s story and 100DaysOfCode that I realized I needed to code everyday, immerse myself in supportive communities, and never lose hope.

#100DaysOfCode and Twitter Communities

What a challenge. I read through the requirements and to be honest, I was intimidated. But for some reason, in the back of my head I thought, “100 Days? Yeah I can do that.” And so I went for it, day in and day out documenting my progress and sharing it on Twitter. The support was unreal, and to see others right there with you was so reassuring. January 11, 2018, the 100th day. I can’t believe it - I accomplished the challenge :blush: I’m so grateful that Alexander Kallaway created this challenge, it taught me more than just coding. I learned about self-discipline and finishing what you started. After all this, I was still in search of a Web Developer job. And so the months went by…

freeCodeCamp: A step in the right direction