The Bootstrap Dilemma

So, I was working at an established startup (30 developers/designers) for the past year or so and loved every aspect bit of it. We had an exceptional in house UI/UX team and as a developer my frontend chops levelled up like crazy.

One practice which we painfully learned in one of our initial project was that while using Bootstrap might help you get from 0 to 90% really quickly that last 10% worth of custom solutions are always a huge pain - since you had to deal with specificity related issued and write ‘!important’ all over.

As a result we ended up opting for SMACSS/ OOCSS model and write our own solutions for everything. The project as result became super maintainable and highly flexible.

Which leads us to today.

I recently joined a super early stage startup which has 7 developers in total with just 3 of them being front end developers and 1 of the front-end developer being an intern.

Now the project is a FIN-TECH product.

Just yesterday we received the onboarding UI. And the project manager is asking us to build the whole thing using - you guessed it - BOOTSTRAP.

What should I do?

I tried sharing my experience no to avail.

1 Like

If they already have a design in mind for you to implement, take a close look at it to determine what is possible in Bootstrap and what modifications it would take to make it work.

If there is no design, but just features / user stories, then just build the thing in Bootstrap. At least the Bootstrap will be easy for the intern to pick up, right?

Bootstrap doesn’t have to be super hard to modify if you spend a little time getting familiar with the source code for it. They provide some tips on customizing it here: https://getbootstrap.com/docs/4.0/getting-started/theming/

With appropriate class naming and awareness of selector specificity you shouldn’t need to fall back on !important except for exceptional circumstances.