The gap between an amateur and a professional

Hey. I’ve been a programmer for a little while now, i’m mostly geared towards systems programming and pentesting, however i decided to get into front end to try and work remotely. At this point i’m fairly confident in my knowledge in CSS/HTML/JS, however i don’t feel like what i produce is professional, not even close.

This survey, for example: http://codepen.io/Selhar/full/ygGYJO/

I tried very hard to polish it, took me a good 6 hours, i remade it from scratch and changed to the point where i didn’t know what to do next. Yet i would be bothered to see this survey in a professional website, it does not look like the work of a professional, but i can’t pinpoint why. I know this is a very subjective area, however there must be a way to close this gap effectively, which is why i came here. I seem to lack the common sense to identify what my work as a front end developer lacks. In programming i could have specific metrics for performance or elegance, but in front end programming that’s more blurred and subjective, which is why i’m struggling to progress. Any help on how to improve what seems to be simple poor taste would be very welcome.

1 Like

Coming up with a visually impressive design and being confident in front-end stack are different things, excelling in one does not guarantee excelling in other. If you are confident with front-end stack and able to distinguish good tastes from bad tastes, can’t you reverse engineer good looking forms that exists in other web sites?

Overall design doesn’t look bad at all, but form readability and use of color seems like dragging down the overall design. You can go pretty far just by experimenting with colors and fonts. There are many websites for exploring fonts and colors.

As for html,
Don’t add unnecessary attributes if you are not using them.
Use more div with class so they can be strictly used as CSS target.
label tag does not target name attribute.