Thinking about creating my own free bootcamp. Is there a market?

Hi everyone!

I want to start by saying that I like freecodecamp. I think it is a great resource for learning, but I think that it would be great to also have a bootcamp that is free which resembles other paid bootcamps out there like Bloc and General Assembly.

My husband is a developer with 7 years of experience, including companies like IBM. I am a former teacher with 4 years of teaching experience and an aspiring web developer. We were thinking about combining his web development experience with my teaching experience and make a comprehensive free bootcamp.

Here are some ways that the bootcamp would stand out:

1. Video tutorials. The bootcamp would have videos to explain each concept in detail and give context to each lesson.

2. 800+ hours of learning Unlike most video-based courses online, (i.e. treehouse, lynda), the bootcamp would be fully-comprehensive and linear, going from basics to advanced, and building on each lesson.

3. The name and the brand. The bootcamp would have a more official sounding name than freecodecamp. (Hope i’m not causing offense with that statement, it just seems like an employer wouldn’t give much value to a course with the word “free” in the name.) It would also work to be acknowledged as a legitimate bootcamp that can train people on the level of the best bootcamps such as Hack Reactor and App Academy.

4. Admissions Process This is related to the point above. There would be an admissions process to determine if the student has already learned the basics of coding and if they are committed to getting a job. This is helpful to current students so they can be within a community of only motivated developers. It would also help the school to build a good reputation with employers.