This Is What I Can Build After Finishing My Front End Certificate

Hi everyone,

I finished my front end certificate 1-2 months ago and decided to learn react and create a portfolio centerpiece project called “Thai Tutor”. As the name suggests, this is a single page application written in React that helps English speakers practice basic Thai.

https://raddog25.github.io/ThaiTutorTest/

I would very much appreciate any feedback you can give me as this app is what I intend to showcase to employers. Basically, I want to use it to prove that I am a good javascript programmer. The git repository is linked in the about page if you want to see my code, but even if you are busy or a beginner I’d love to hear what you think as a user. The site is mobile friendly but is a better experienced with larger screens in my opinion. If you want to learn something simple I recommend setting the category to low numbers.

I have a few ideas about how to make this app better such as moving business logic to the server side / a database, but that is not a priority for me at this time.

Thanks!

edit: Hmm, it looks like the stability of some of my audio files is suspect and is causing some bugs…

Jan 9, 2017 edit: Ok I’ve looked into the issues and they should be fixed, please let me know if you find anything acting strange. I also took the chance to expand my apps material.

7 Likes

You’re README.md is very well documented. How’s the job hunt?!

After a few minutes, I’d actually learned a little Thai! (Numbers mostly) But as someone that’s has studied several languages using all kinds of courses and tools I think this is a neat way practice.

One thing I noticed is that the sound would play only once in my browser. If I clicked on the ‘speaker’ icon the audio would not replay. I was using Chrome version 54.0.2840.87 m if that helps.