Tips and advices for a beginner

Hello,

I am new here and to coding. I am a graphic designer / art director. My background is mostly in print design, some graphic animation and video edition(basic),layouts for social media and a couple of website layouts. For the past 4 or 5 years I’ve been working remotely for a small advertising agency and doing my own projects.

I know absolutely nothing of coding. I just started here in FCC and I am doing a course on Udemy too. I am interested in working with front end dev in the future (maybe 4 years in the future) or at least learn html, css and java to improve in the design field.

My question is: Can I learn what I need from here and other online resources to get a entry level job with front end? Will my background help in anything? And since I work remotely, it is possible to get a front end job remotely too?

PS: Sorry if I wrote something wrong. What I learned from English I taught myself and I am still learning.
PS2: Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this. I am very new to FCC and I thought that was the right place.

Thanks to anyone who can give me an advice.

You should check out some of the inspiring stories in the Getting a Devloper Job section. It’s a lot of hard work to teach yourself something without formal structure, but all the resources that you need are freely available online. A background in graphic design will definitely help make your projects look more professional and appealing when you add them to your portfolio.

Remote jobs do exist, but they do tend to be much harder to find and not to pay as well.

Yeah, go through the curriculum here, HTML/CSS should be fine for you, JS is likely to be painful.