To learn or not to learn: location as an issue

Hello everyone.

I’ve been a FCCamper since last year, when I got interested in learning code and discovered this amazing place.

I worked on the curriculum until I embarked on a long journey around the world and now I’m back home, with some serious doubts about continuing this other journey (coding).

I feel now highly demotivated to continue my apprenticeship in the web development world. I deleted all my progress in order to start the curriculum again (as I forgot most of what I learnt last year) but now I realized that I live in a place with zero opportunities for self-taught developers (or even graduate developers at all). I live in one of the Canary Islands, Spain. I know that there are job offers in other islands (well, not too many) but not where I live. Seeing a job offer related to IT is something pretty uncommon.
I know there are web design agencies here but they do not recruit people at all (I talked with a few professionals already). There is a 2-year web development course that can be taken here, and the students need to do an internship in the second year in order to earn the certificate, so I suppose that’s where agencies get their employees from (if they need any). I can’t take this course as the only option is full time and in-person (a man needs to work).

What could be a real solution without having to relocate? Is remote work / freelancing a real outcome for an amateur / entry-level developer like me?

Thank you for taking your time! :slight_smile:

P.D: I hope this is the correct category for this topic. I wasn’t sure.

I can’t answer on the question of there being remote work, free lance as I have not looked into those myself, and I know nothing of your coding abilities to give a good answer.