Unsure if I should continue with web dev - your experiences would be appreciated

Hi there,

I am a newbie to FCC , 37 years old from London UK.

Would be grateful for some help and advice on my situation.

Last month I left my first web dev role as a comp science grad four months after starting because of no support, mentor ship, a passive aggressive boss who wanted to control everything I do. It was suffocating me, I felt anxious, stressed and nervous most days.

I had explained during my interview I was new to JS and SQL and was reassured support would be readily available. From the outset my boss was laughing me when I asked him questions, used to get angry at other times.

Despite this I managed to create some fixes using JS as per the requirements given to me and then he would go and change the requirements. This made me feel angry and when I presented the initial requirements he said “oh well I mad e a mistake”.

To cut a long story short, I am wondering if I should continue in this web dev world. I am new to it, need guidance and mentoring but am afraid if I am honest if I start another company and its deja vue.

I know its only one experience but it really has left me low in confidence and self esteem even though I know it was not my fault I feel hurt.

Since then I have been following FCC tutorials and am enjoying what I am learning. The sense of achievement of creating something from code is wonderful. However I am concerned whether I should continue in this field altogether now?

I did an internship at an engineering company also and my first year was great, I then moved departments and the boss there was also passive aggressive, belittling, patronising and condescending. I did explain how his behaviour was sapping the life air out of me and my creativity. I then went back to uni and finished my comp science degree.