[US, TX] I Got a Job as a Front End Developer

My Story

NOTE: This is as much a post for others to learn from as it is a post for self-reflection. It’s been a long journey, and I have been waiting to write this post.

I graduated from a decent state school about four years ago with a bachelors degree in physics. I had been successful in my studies, graduating near the top of my class. But the stress and anxiety of being a student had taken its toll on me. I had given up the idea of slaving away for another six years as a graduate student. So when I graduated, I began to look for a job.

When I started my job search, I was confident that someone would hire me soon. Yet weeks went by, and I only experienced rejection. Then the weeks turned into months, and months into years. My mounting anxiety became unbearable.

I remember that my spirits got so low at one point, I began to dread interviews. One interview stands out in particular. When the interviewer asked something like “So what makes you a good fit for this job?”, I didn’t have a response. I forgot if I had any intelligence or marketable skills at all. My confidence was gone.

I went back to school for a master’s degree. It was there, after realizing my disillusionment with academia, that I found freeCodeCamp. A year ago I started working through the curriculum. Soon after I started through the curriculum, I discovered the local meetup group. I started attending every week and found it beneficial. The projects I completed built up my confidence that had vanished.

A year’s worth of Sunday’s invested in learning web development paid off. But–this is key–I wouldn’t have found my job without the support of the community.

The leaders of the freeCodeCamp meetups I had been going to were very generous. They showed me how to make a resume and they told me what employers were looking for. They even brought in recruiters to the meetup.