Using Color effectively as a Web Designer

I am an intending web developer so I am currently learning new things here. In my experience, I find out that knowing how to use and combine colors allows developer create professional website.

So how do I go about it?

one fairly systematic approach is that of material design, described here:

There are handy tools like this one:

But since this is art, you could take many approaches and material design is only one. I would encourage you to dig deeper.

A handy tool I like to create color palettes is:

1 Like

Speaking as someone who have studied graphic design, I can definitely say both graphic and web design share the similar principles and theory in design.

However, from what I have been told through friends that they can never find a course or book to study design principles and theory in web or if they do, it is heavily based more in coding (HTML & CSS) and I agree having search for them (unless I did a poor job lol)

The reason I am saying this is even though, I do not know what is the best resource at this moment, search for resources or courses that teach about basic design principle in graphic design because I do know there is many of resources for it, especially books.

If it covers topics in
• colour theory
• grid & layout
• typography
• spacing
• imagery

then that is all you need. You will not need to learn anything that is involved print and physical design like packaging.

If I find do find a resource or course then I will let you know :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Hey @passive, if you want to learn colors I suggest starting with RGB & HSL. Specifically you need to understand:

• Why RGB?
  • What’s HLS (and why RGB is a poor representation of color)?

Then try locking any 2 parameters of HLS and change the third one to see how it affects color. You can do it here: http://hslpicker.com

Next step, find out what are shades, tones and tints and try monochromatic design :wink:

Good luck!

1 Like