Want to actually learn javascipt?

Hey guys,

I am a fellow FCC student and if any of you are like me after you finished the js curriculum and jump into the algorithms it feels like you hit a brick wall. I wanted to share a resource that has become damn near invaluable for me. Gordon Zhu is the teacher and former Google employee who breaks down javascript better than any other resource I have found.

The big take aways for why I think his resource is worth while is because he doesn’t just throw you to the wolves. He breaks down why the code is doing what it is doing along with showing you how to read code, debug and really teach yourself (which will help you through the rest of the FCC stuff).

practicaljavascript.net is the beginning content and then you can decide how far you want to go with him (I personally am a premium member and get no kick backs sending people there) i’m just a passionate programmer that wants to share an amazing resource if you are serious about programming.

16 Likes

I agree that his course is pretty good. It’s nice to see him getting some exposure.

Thanks for the link … just completed his free course and found it really really good. And even though i knew 95% of what was covered it was worth doing plus i picked up some new stuff . But the the way it was taught was really good and was a really nice way to learn stuff.

1 Like

Thanks for posting OP. It’s always exciting to hear about a good new resource; I’ll definitely give it a shot.

Hey - can you elaborate on Practical Javascript? I checked out the website, it looks like a series of videos. Is it more than just copying what he writes on the screen into your text editer? Do you use github throughout the course?

Yes it is more than just copy and pasting the code he does. He actually teaches you what is going on and breaks down each method. Check out the reviews. http://watchandcode.com/p/practical-javascript-reviews