Web designer seeking advice

Hi, I am a web designer focus on UI and front end. which laptop would you recommend for freelance work? is it really necessary to have a mac? Thanks.

It is absolutely not necessary to have any specific brand unless you are writing native iOS apps. I say get something reliable with a keyboard that you find comfortable.

3 Likes

The short answer is no, it is not necessary.

The reason why designers are encouraged to have a Mac is down to the colour model system. Every laptop (both brand and model) display colours differently from each screens. But, I think it is only vital for designers with projects in print format.

However, make sure UI applications you use are compatible with Windows. Sketch, for example, does not work on Windows.

Hope this helps :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I completely agree with ArielLeslie here but want to put a big emphasis on the keyboard. A bad keyboard experience really ruins a laptop for you since there is no way to change it if you don’t like it. At work, we were issued the 2018 Macbook Pros and what everyone said about the keyboard is true, you get used to it but it is so much more difficult to type quickly. If possible go out to an electronics store and try out some of the display models to see which ones vibe with you and your typing styles the best.

3 Likes

I use Adobe XD and Figma too so it is not a huge issue if I don’t use Sketch for UI design. The Reason why I ask about laptop is that a window machine with 256GB harddisk is a lot cheaper than mac. Proably half priced! it is insane!

1 Like

That’s very true about keyboard! but which laptop now have the best keyboard? many people saying the old Lenovo Thinkpad has the best keyboard which you can get it for like USD$200 in ebay with i5 CPU and 8GB RAM. is it a good choice for web designer?

Then, you should be fine. :slight_smile:

Now, you have gotten me curious! :stuck_out_tongue: Am I allowed to ask what model and make it is?