Web development is not for me?

Hi all!

I had a look around the forum and I wasn’t able to find a topic on this question (also, it’s probably very specific to me), so hopefully I am not repeating anything.

I have been working as a back end developer for a couple of years now, and whereas I enjoy certain aspects of my job (for the most part I enjoy programming itself), I find it very mundane and repetitive. Overall, I don’t think this has anything to do with the company I work for as I have been postponing searching for other job because I like working for them.

I struggle identifying value that I bring to the table, when all I am supposed to care is about website performance, efficiency, caching, servers and etc, which are all important and something that a person in my position should care about… but I don’t.

I recently came into situation where I was asked to make improvements on a website for someone really close to me, and whereas I did accept, I realized that I know very little about what makes a website look good, convert, let alone how to implement those changes on the front end. Switching to front end is something that I have been considering for a while, because in my unexperienced eyes, it feels that maybe I could have a bit more impact on the client’s business itself.

I think this is where it all stems for me - I want to help people, potentially go into a route of helping small businesses bring more revenue through well designed and built websites. Because of this I have even considered moving to design, but there is a part of me that genuinely enjoys programming, and since it’s a skill that I have been working on and developing for a couple of years, I feel very reluctant to abandon it. It also feels like small business and individual people would be less likely to hire a company to improve their website but rather a single person, who could do the majority of the improvements for them.

But my pondering doesn’t end here [insert facepalm emoji].