What are different securities that I must apply for my self hosted website?

By self hosted website I mean, a website that is hosted on my computer and made available through port forwarding by the router. I have apache2 as the web server to serve the http requests. How to make the website and my whole home network that is connected to the same router secure. I assume that my home network would be vulnerable too if the web server is vulnerable. Is apache secure enough independently without any external configurations?

1 Like

I’m far from an expert here, but I have picked up a few things managing some of my own servers.

Apache is pretty secure when configured correctly, but you are right that your network is more vulnerable when you have an internet facing machine on it. A truism in computer security is that you cannot be perfectly safe from hacking. By taking a few steps, you can make yourself a much more difficult target, and thus not worth the effort. Here’s what I would do:

• Make sure your router is up to date.
  • Configure your router’s firewall such that the only external traffic going into your network are through ports 80 and 443, which get routed to your server. Open other ports very judiciously.
  • If your router supports it, put your server on a DMZ (demilitarized zone). This is like a separate network that is intended for internet facing connections. If your server gets compromised, the rest of your network won’t be at risk. This will make SSH and other remote connections very difficult, though.
  • Configure your server’s firewall properly. Only allow in the traffic you absolutely must allow. If possible, restrict remote access to a single machine. Even better, keep a monitor and keyboard attached.