What can a teen do to get more "experience"

Hello all,

I would like to preface this by saying that I know that the best way to gain experience in computer programming is to actually program. I work on personal projects, as well as projects for free code camp every day, and this question is based on how I might expand upon my knowledge at a relatively young age.

From what I just said above, it’s probably obvious now that I am a teenager. If you didn’t get that, well ta da! I am. I’ve completed the front end development certificate, and am working on my back end certificate currently. I started coding with FCC in December or November of 2016, but have always been more or less a technology fanatic. As most other teenagers, I’m starting to think about how I wanna apply for college. I’m only 16, so I’m a rising Junior, and will not be graduating until the year 2019, however, a head start is always great. I know that I want to go to a top tier school, and my grades and test scores are not out of reach of this goal. However, with college being available to more and more people by the day, top ten colleges are getting more and more selective. I’ve looked around for a while online, as long with talked with an educational consultant. It seems like one thing stands out clear: the kids who are the most likely to get into these schools (Harvard, Stanford, Caltech, etc.) are the ones that are all really good at something, and stand out for what they do. This is where I need your help. I’m always going to continue to program on my own, but I’m worried that showing up to a college interview, or writing on my college application that “I completed certificates X, Y, and Z on freecodecamp.com” is not going to stand out enough. Now, believe me, I love FCC. Anyone who I’ve ever talked to that was interested in computer programming, I redirected them right here. At this point in my “career”, if one could even call it that, I’m trying to gain some real life experience to match the thin