What career path to take?

So everything I’ve read and listened to about being a self taught programmer, and the pit falls that many fall subject to says to pick what career you want and then learn those technologies. They say if they could do it over again they would pick the career they wanted and then focus on those skills, but the problem is I have no idea what I want to do in programming.

All I know is that I love solving problems and digging through issues to figure out why things are not working. I love writing and fixing code. So literally anything in the field of software development sounds amazing to me.

So my question is how do I decide what path to follow? Is there a large resource of job descriptions that I can read to tell me what I may be best suited for? How can I know what to learn if I don’t know what I want to do?

Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated. I’m trying to go about the self taught route as efficiently as possible and I don’t want to waste time learning something that won’t help me in my future career.

Thanks for your help!

In software development “you are what you learn”.
That is, every field, every job requires its own set of unique software development skill-set(s). Anticipating what that is, means anticipating what job you will one day have which I think is quite hard! (if not impossible).
They used to advise young people to pick a person who is currently doing the job of your dreams. Find out what skill-set they are using and study that. But by the time you’re done with that, the job will have changed!
So this is a hard question to answer. Still, I see no other way forward.
Pick a job that you’d like to do for a company that you’d like to work for. Figure out its qualifications (you can email the company to ask but be clear you are only asking as an education exercise), study those things.
Cross your fingers and hope that you have enough curiosity about technology to keep you in the game as things change.