What do you need to do to become a 16 year old web developer?

Hi whoever is reading this, I am a 13 years of age, and want to code when I am grown up, and hopefully will at least be freelancing by 16. I right now am taking courses on CodeSchool, but I have finished the HTML course, and don’t know what to study next to help my future career along. If you guy’s could help me out, it would be much appreciated. :smile:

2 Likes

Perhaps you could try the curriculum here since you are already here.

2 Likes

Yeah, I am doing that as well. I mainly use CodeSchool, but try to use other websites to increase my learning, including free code camp. Thanks for the input, I really appreciate it. I didn’t expect a reply so fast.

Well, let’s see. You have approx. 2.1-3 years before you turn 16. Plenty of time to become a freelancer if you stick with it. I built a simple program for my church to open and switch between songs quickly when I was 15 (I started programming about 6 months prior). I did my first “paid” job moving a friend’s site to another host when I was 16 for $50. I also built some free plugins for people during that time. Unfortunately, I haven’t had the time to turn it into a business, but I at least have an idea of what’s needed.

If you want to freelance front-end work and build web pages, become very good at HTML, CSS, design, and animations. Learn how to properly code with and without a framework (i.e. Bootstrap). Learn UX, and how to take a client’s ideas (whether good or bad) and put them on a webpage that will properly reach out to their potential customers. Just making simple HTML pages isn’t going to cut it, you need to learn how to market ideas using a website as a medium.