What is PHP - A beginner question

I am a beginner to web development. I learnt html, css, js. Now i came to know PHP is also used for web development.
So , Where ,why is it used?
What is it’s pros and cons? and so on…

1 Like

It’s a scripting language that works on servers. It was written as a way to make HTML pages dynamic, as a templating language. So you write an HTML page, and you give it the .php extension instead of .html, and you put it on a server that understands PHP, and you can add special syntax which can allow you to do a variety of things HTML cannot do on its own (upload data from forms to a database for example).

<!DOCTYPE HTML>
<html>
    <head>
        <title>Example</title>
    </head>
    <body>
        <?php echo "Hi, I'm a PHP script!"; ?>
    </body>
</html>

That would just print out the text in the <?php ?> tags. Anything inside those tags is PHP script, the PHP interpreter will convert/run anything inside them.

It was written so that the author could make webpages do things like interact with databases, so he could say have a form on the web page that worked, that a user could fill in, hit submit, and would put the stuff in it into some kind of data store.

It turns out this is a very useful thing, and using PHP was much, much easier than any of the other options at the time (Perl, CGI scripts, Java among other things). It kinda grew uncontrollably from there: because it was very easy to use (you just need a web server with a PHP interpreter on, and you can just upload all the files and they basically Just Work), lots of people used it, the community of users grew enormously, and built more and more things (kinda like JavaScript today). It wasn’t built as a “proper” programming language, but it turned into one because of that.

Pros:
It is very easy to build basic things with.
It is easy to learn.
It works almost everywhere.
Deployment is basically as simple as uploading the PHP files to a server.