What language to start with first?

I’m doing the self-taught route (for now), already know a small amount of Python, and just completed the HTML basics course on here. If the end goal is to break into software engineering, what would be the best language to go all-in with?

Probably the first first thing should be a computer science course, for getting down the basic concepts

This one for example:

1 Like

Hey @hye345,

Great to hear you’re starting to learn.

I’d recommend a back-to-front approach. If your goal is to get a job in Software Engineering, first think about what type of role you would like. Do you want to be a Mobile developer / Web developer / Backend coder etc?

It it’s a little hard to tell right now, just think of what sounds cool to you.

From there, think of what type of company you’d like to work in, think of the city that you’d like to work in. Find your ideal companies you’d like to work for, and then have a look at their job boards. See what they’re looking for in terms of Software Developers and write down all the overlapping technologies and languages that different companies are looking for.

For getting started, do something that you find fun. From there, follow @ilenia’s advice, dig a little deeper into the languages that you decide to use, buy books on those languages and really understand the ins and outs of the programming language itself,

Hope that helps in some way!

1 Like

It’s not the language, is the concepts that matters for software engineering. The language is just a tool, so the idea of “going all-in” with a single language automatically boxes you in to what is available to solve a given problem. It will also limit how many approaches you can take for a given concept. For example learning OOP in Java and Python will give you a better understanding of the OOP concept in general, as the syntax between the languages will differ, but the concept is still the same.