What to do next?

Hi,

Let me introduce myself really quickly and give you a bit of my background. My name is Eduardo, I’m from Brazil and I’m 18 years old. I started programming when I was 16. I finished high school and got into university but decided to go study abroad and now I’m doing a software developer bachelor in the Netherlands. My real question here is more like a discussion or a guidance request. I have (at least I think I do) intermediate level programming skills, I can do pretty much any task that is asked and I’m really comfortable with programming, I finished FCC’s old front-end curriculum and worked on back-end development on my own. Up until now I haven’t had a job as a programmer, and I don’t know what to do. Since I’m in my first year of university and I already had previous knowledge, the course is really dull atm, but I’ve got enough motivation to stick through. The thing is, I’d like to be working in side projects or anything really just to keep myself occupied, I’ve done a few things here and there but nothing really meaningful. My latest “project” was a simple python script that helped me out in a game I was playing (no cheat, the game is a CCG and the script gives me my card collection from the game), but that was a quick and easy fun thing. The problem I’m facing now is what to do next? What kind of project can I work on? Should I try to do some freelancing? Should I try to make a proper curriculum and look for a part-time job while I study? Or should I just keep to my side projects and focus in the university?

I hope someone can make sense of this and can understand what I’m going through, if not at least I tried.
¯_(ツ)_/¯

Thanks for your time :slight_smile:

Hey Eduardo,

I would recommend you to send out your Resume, github, protfolio… The usuals… to local companies and trying to arrange some internship/partime job…