What to do when your client isn't willing to provide you the design?

I got my first client a while ago. I figured it would be a good chance to put the things I’ve learned so far into practice, so I’m willing to take the project even though I’m still a beginner.

The problem is that I’ve never gotten into web design and he doesn’t already have a design for the website. I looked for and talked to a designer, and he’s willing to help me for a fee, but my client isn’t willing to pay this fee. He wants me to both design and develop the website, but as I’ve said I’m not a web designer, and as far as I know web design and web development are two different skill sets.

I hope someone can help me. I’m really confused on how to proceed since I don’t wish to deliver a mediocre-looking website due to the fact that I’m not a designer. I really really don’t wish to ditch the project since I believe it’s a great opportunity to acquire some experience and have something I can put on my portfolio once I create one.

If anyone could advise me on how to proceed, I’d be very grateful. Should I try to convince him to pay for the design so I can hire the designer if he wants something that looks good? Should I just make the design myself even though I know it won’t be great (though I’ll have to design in code straight away since I don’t know how to work with graphics software)?

1 Like

What was the original agreement? What does the contract state?

@PortableStick There’s no contract… At least so far there isn’t one, I’m not sure if I’ll make him sign one at all.

What would you do if faced with something similar? I mean you’re asked to design but you’re not a designer, and the client isn’t willing to pay you to hire a designer either, and certainly not willing to hire a designer himself, even though you’re doing everything else for free.