What to do with my portfolio project

I’ve just gotten mostly done with my first pass at the portfolio page. I have no real experience prior to this challenge so I found aspects of this very difficult. The jumping navbar for instance, I wish there was so info on that in the HTML and CSS sections immediately preceding this challenge. I’ve built this page from scratch (i.e no templates and no peeking behind the scenes of the example, like FCC instructs) but my page:
a)Looks like garbage compared to the sample.
b)Doesn’t jump smoothly like the sample .
c)Doesn’t re-size properly on my phone, though I used bootstrap flexible containers.

I’ve worked with only what we have been taught and what Ive read (elsewhere) about navbars and such.

Any advice? Right now I feel like scrapping it and starting fresh, but unclear how I will do any better with, for example, the navbar, since Im cobbling the info together from other websites and dont understand 100% its operation.

Here it is:

Hello !

Two quick things :

Your fonts colors, against a dark background are hard to read. You should aim for good contrast and have a lighter font color.

I also notice that you added Bootstrap Css, but you lack two crucial things to make it work :

Add Jquery and then Bootstrap in your JS panel. Bootstrap requires that JQuery is present and also use it’s own script.

Good luck !

2 Likes

I have been working on my portfolio project for a few weeks now and have made zero progress.(went back to reading/tutorials) I think I could easily get one made by using bootstrap or flexbox but I read somewhere that said I should make an effort to learn HTML/CSS before using frameworks…I guess after a couple more weeks of spinning tires, I may hitch a ride on the bootstrap train…

1 Like