What to focus on

I am currently in my second year of a software engineering degree. I have completed various modules, one on OOP concepts (in java). I will be starting a module that covers HTML/CSS/Javascript this October. I have decided to try and get ahead by going through the FCC track.

My problem is, whenever I learn anything I feel like I am not learning enough(or gaining a deep enough understanding of the presented concepts), so I jump around from resource to resource, book to book until I end up burning out and overwhelming myself and end up feeling depressed because I am not progressing fast enough.

If I’m in one book then hit a topic that I don’t understand and the book doesn’t explain it in a way that makes me fully get it, I then move onto another book, in the hope that I can understand the concept that I was stuck on and return to the original book equipped with this new understanding. The problem is, it becomes an endless chase.

I kind of want to just go through the track and use the Mozilla docs to get an understanding of what functions do what, and then try and complete the projects, but then in my head I feel like maybe I should wait until I have a deeper understanding of how everything fits together, but then if I wait I might end up never getting to that stage. I want to get out of this advanced beginner stage and move forwards, but then I don’t know what the best direction to go is.

I know exactly what you mean. I have found myself in that situation more than once :slight_smile:. Currently my strategy is to understand ‘enough’ because having no clue what you are doing wouldn’t be good either. However I try to avoid diving too deep into different topics.