What to put for salary expectations as a new dev

I am in the middle of applying to a remote position for a front-end developer. I have no professional experience and I am self-taught. I also have no degree (in anything). This has me feeling pretty low. With all of that and general imposter syndrome, I don’t know what I am worth.

The job I am applying for requires you give them a salary expectation. I have no idea what to put. I live in a big US city and the company is US-based. I don’t want to lowball myself, but I’m afraid they will look at all of the dings against me and thing I am delusional for asking for too much.

According to GlassDoor, the average Junior FED salary is around $75k, with the low-end being $58k. The company itself on GlassDoor has only a few data points, with the front-end salary range being between about $60-70k.

I’m not sure what to put. Does anyone have any advice so I don’t blow this?

1 Like

well, it sure sounds like you did some research and you have a good basis for an estimate. Can you provide a range? Also I wouldn’t worry too much about them ignoring you given the numbers you posted (they’re not crazy high).
One thought, if you said 60-70 would you be happy if they gave you 60 and you later found out other colleagues were at 70 when they started? (would being hired be enough satisfaction?)
Another thought, if you did find out that you were underpaid, there’s nothing preventing you leaving if a raise request gets no response?

1 Like

I think a lot of times this is just to make sure you are in the ballpark. If the position maxes out at 80k, they don’t want to bother with someone that will refuse anything below 100k. In large companies, salary ranges are often already explicitly outlined so there isn’t much wiggle room anyway.