When is it time to call it quits?

I’ve been learning this stuff for two years. I’ve spent $10,000 on a coding bootcamp which was pretty great while it lasted. But I’m still not employable.

Some advice I’ve received is to build out my most promising app more to include features that are actually usable, work on interview stuff, etc. HackerRank is the only thing I really know of, so I try that. Problem 1 of the Interview Prep series has me absolutely stumped. I check the discussions for the solution and even that doesn’t make sense.

What have I gotten myself into? How do I know when it’s time to call it quits?

2 Likes

Only you can really know whether it is time to call it quits.

For me, if I felt like I had tried absolutely everything within my power to get a job in the field, and I was still getting nowhere I’d probably quit. Or if I absolutely had to take an unrelated job to make ends meet and that took all of my coding time away from me, then I would at least postpone the dream.

That said, have you tried everything in your power?

Consider:

• how many jobs have you applied for?
  • how long have you been applying for jobs?
  • have you attended meetups or other networking events with a view to seeking out work?
  • do you live in an area with opportunities for junior devs?
  • have you run your resume (and linkedin profile) past people with experience to ensure it’s hitting the right kind of talking points?
  • do you have a polished portfolio demonstrating skills expected of junior devs?
  • have you sought feedback from unsuccessful interviews as to what areas you could improve upon?

Getting your first job as a web developer is really hard.

A friend of mine is incredibly experienced and even he struggled for months to get his next senior position just because of our local job market and his particular work needs.