When is it time to give up?

Hey everyone,

So I’m very new to coding, I have zero tech background but I know developers are going to be more and more need in the future so I wanted to get involved. I love challenges, I love learning, I don’t really considered myself below par when it comes to picking up things quickly but OH MY GOSH! I just got to creating a card counting system for BlackJack in Java again and I was so clueless when I got there… I felt like i had learned nothing so I went back to scratch all the way to square one with HTML 101. Erased every code and did it all over again. Took notes, made sure I was understanding everything but every time it gets to the little Mini projects, converting temperatures, the mad libs sentence structure, ect… all the things where you do your own… I become clueless. Well I got to the Card Counting again and I felt the exact same way. I was clueless. I finally looked at the solution which made sense but I NEVER would have come up with that on my own. Not in a million years. Everyone says anyone can learn to code… I feel like I’m ahead of the game when it comes to learning, memorization, math ect but this just doesn’t link together when its time for me to apply what I’ve learned… I feel like this just isn’t for me even though I like it. I absolutely SUCK! Did anyone else go through this? Did you study outside of free code camp? Read books? watch videos? I dunno I feel like I’m missing something really important like maybe a brain…Sorry for the rant, just wanted to hear thoughts. So discouraged…

11 Likes

Cross linking to “Fair warnings to starters”:

6 Likes

Similarly answered in another thread

TL;DR there are techniques you can learn to maximize your learning…

4 Likes

Hey no need to apologize about ranting. I think a good dose of venting one’s frustrations is healthy.

I can commiserate with what you’re going through. Thinking you have a decent, even strong grasp of something to then suddenly becoming unmoored by it.