When & where to use SQL?

Greetings gang,

Can I please get some clarification into SQL and what should I learn pre/post SQL?

A quick background on me, I’m a frontend designer. My wife wants to take a SQL course because she believes it’ll help her leap frog other folks at work to pull her own reports & data. I thought it would be a great opportunity for us to both take this course and do something together.

That said, I have minimal backend dev understanding and wanted to see if I could get a really elementary overview of SQL, what should I learn before and/or after SQL in order to use it, and possibly a scenario where it might fit into my daily workflow as a designer/dev.

For example, does it make sense to first learn databases (MySQL) and how to set one up before taking SQL? Should I learn some PHP afterwords to actually do something w/ the data? While I wont be using it much, I’d be nice to have the 4th grade introduction overview of the who, whats, whys, and whens of SQL =)

'preciate any help.

2 Likes

IMHO, you should probably get some basic understanding of databases before starting to learn SQL. Then start practicing queries. Probably should decide which syntax you will learn (I think MySQL is Oracle so you will learn PL/SQL. I’m sure someone will correct me if incorrect). Then learn how to integrate the database into a project (this part I have yet to do myself). That’s how I would structure it.

1 Like

Right on! Thanks for the insight here.