Which Browser has the Best Developer Tools and Explain Why?

Hello you all! I’m new to the coding environment.

I was wondering what browser you all use for your projects and for web development. I have used Chrome Dev tools before, but not much. I have recently started using Firefox Developers Edition, which I think is OK.

Well, I just finished reading this article, DevTools Showdown: Edge’s F12 vs Firefox vs Chrome and it is an overlook of the three different browsers. It is a nice interesting read. It seems like Microsoft Edge is trying to get into the competition.

Here is a list of browsers with Developer Tools:

So, what browser do you all prefer to use and why?

6 Likes

Right now I’m using Chrome Dev tools. Why? Because it is enough for me and I like it. But sometimes I use Firefox with Firebug addon - it is cool thing too.

2 Likes

I guess it all depends on what we are trying to do because different Dev tools have different functionality’s.

I like Chrome’s developer tools the most. I especially like the device mode which allows you to emulate different devices like tablets, mobile phones, etc.

Read more about it here: https://developers.google.com/web/tools/chrome-devtools/iterate/device-mode/

6 Likes

Anyone using Opera?

3 Likes

Yes, that’s a great feature, it comes in handy! Firefox has that feature as well, called Responsive Design Mode. Now for, Microsoft Edge, Safari, Opera and others…I don’t know, if they have it or not.

I will do some research and see though.

I have not ever used Opera for browsing or web development.

Hands down, Chrome. Firefox has some nice dev tools, yes, but Chrome’s dev tools are easily expanded with extensions, and there are currently some very nice ones for React and Redux.

I’m told Edge has some fine dev tools too, but alas quite specialized in terms of platform support.

1 Like

I found this nice article here: Firefox Developer Edition: The Browser for Developers