Which operating system would be better for web development

I am new to the world of web development…and my laptop has crashed:sob: (after updating to Windows 10). Long story short, I need a new laptop and I just wanted to know which operating system would be better.
Thank you.

I don’t think any particular one is really that much better than any other these days. If you’re using Linux or OS X then the OS that you’re using will be more similar to that of the typical web server (both natively use the same command shell as Linux) but that doesn’t matter that much.

You get more bang for your buck buying non-mac hardware, and you can save a little bit of money if you buy a laptop without Windows and just put Ubuntu on it. (I think the usual licensing fee for OEM Windows is like $100, and you might be able to use the license key from the old laptop anyway.) Things like this are bigger considerations when choosing an operating system.

1 Like

You can develop perfectly well on any operating system. Many developers do choose to use a Linux or Mac though as they are based on Unix. A lot of developer tools are built for Unix systems first so they are typically easier to set up on Unix systems. It is also generally accepted that the Unix command line is superior to the windows command line.

A lot of developer go with Macbooks as they are well built, have a nice operating system and tend to last long. You will find many Mac users that will swear by their macbook. That being said they are expensive for the spec you get and more difficult to upgrade.

My advice would be to buy a mac if you have the funds, otherwise go with linux.

But hey if you are super comfortable with Windows go for that.

2 Likes

I am certain more experienced people will also react to this topic, but this is my two cents.