Why are entry level java web development jobs so sparse?

I’m a Computer Science student and Android developer trying to get into web development. I chose Spring boot to learn and I’m liking it so far, but I’d love to experience web development as a career and try an internship.

When looking for Java spring / web dev internships, it seems to be really lacking in positions. I can find plenty of node/express but almost none for java spring.

Is Java web development mostly geared for seasoned professionals?

Afaik [backed up by my experience] what you’re looking isn’t a common thing at all (caveat, I’m in the UK, I can’t comment as to other markets).

What I mean by that is that, if I look for jobs including “Spring Boot” in the description, I get 500-odd job postings across the UK. Of those, there are a fair few entry-level positions. But, almost universally, the companies involved are either financial (banks mainly) or science/medical research (companies spun out of university incubators), or are consultancies (so are primarily using skilled developers to build products for enterprise). So use of a web framework is most often likely to be part of the job.

It’s not as if it’s a common thing at all to have places that primarily exist to build web applications using Java.

And yeah, most jobs are looking for experienced Java developers [to maintain complex systems].

I believe there are 2 main factors impacting the job market for “Java Web Dev internships”.

1. Java is used for a lot of use-cases beyond web development. Enterprise applications, mobile, banking, etc. I’ve had blue ray players, and microwaves that run Java. Its a very capable language.
  2. It’s over 20 years old, and is a very mature language that already has a lot of experienced developers.