Working as a web developer since 3 months - Reflections and learnings

Hello everyone. I was following the free code camp curriculum a few months back and landed a job in a small and new digital marketing company. I build simple static websites for businesses, so what I share below would be my learnings related to this.

Brief Background:- I graduated in 2017 in Electronics and Communication Engineering. My marks were too low to get placed into a company (placements are a thing in India) and I was clueless what I wanted. I didn’t do anything productive for few months and spent them in worry. Then I decided to do TRIAL AND ERROR to identify what interests me. I tried doing content marketing internships, but I didn’t like it. I decided that the purely creative side was not for me and decided to do something more logical like programming as I was good at it in school. I decided to learn Android programming. (I had built an Android project for my college project). I spent 1-2 months doing Google’s Udacity course and one day realized that I hated Java, and left it all aside and began learning Front End Development (HTML, CSS, and JavaScript). I very little prior knowledge of many programming languages, but never really practiced the skills so it was pointless. I had a list of Udemy certificates but didn’t apply the skills learned so I forgot it all and it was a waste of effort.

I was applying for jobs like crazy and not getting a single interview. It was like an uphill battle. No amount of reading or posting to forums can’t help you much, since you can’t go deeper into a conversation in an online chat.