Would an associates in software development be worth it?

Hi everyone,

I am a 25 year old professional ecologist. I have been self teaching myself html, css, and javascript because I want to pursue web development (and possibly other areas of programming). I think I would enjoy the work more because it involves problem solving day to day and requires creativity. It also seems like there is no shortage of jobs that pay well.

I am thinking about going to a community college in town to get an A.S. in software development. I already have a B.S. and a M.S. so I could likely transfer a lot of credits. I would only have to complete the core courses for the degree. I could do this in about 2 semesters full time and for a little over 5k.

Do you think my job prospects would be improved dramatically by having an Associates degree in the field as opposed to only having unrelated B.S. and M.S. degrees?

I want to add that I understand employers would still want to see an impressive portfolio.

Thanks in advance.

If the program has an internship, yes. Otherwise, no. I earned my A.S. in Comp Sci a year ago (I also have an unrelated B.S.) and I’ve landed only a handful of interviews, no followups of any kind. It’s now been four months without an interview; nothing but form rejections in my inbox every morning.

My situation is unusual, however, because of my almost complete lack of job experience. I naively assumed that the degree and class/hobby projects would compensate for that. I was wrong. I doubt any employer has even bothered going to my Github page. One of them did ask me about my projects but, despite my gushing enthusiasm (lol), I was rejected the next day without comment. I finally did get a job – working part-time at a supermarket.

This is just my experience. Whether you go for another degree or not, I wish you the best of luck.