后端开发和 APIs

服务器

在这之前,你只是在前端使用 JavaScript 来给页面添加交互、解决算法挑战,或构建一个 SPA(单页应用程序)。但 JavaScript 也可以用于后端或者服务器来构建整个 web 应用程序。

今天,构建应用软件的广受欢迎的方法之一是微服务,这些微服务是一种小型模块化的应用,能够共同形成一个更大的整体。

在后端开发和 APIs 认证中,你将学习如何使用 Node.js 和 npm(Node 包管理工具)来写后端。你还将使用 Express 框架构建 web 应用程序,并使用 MongoDB 和 Mongoose 库构建一个 People Finder 微服务。

课程

npm(Node 包管理工具)是一个命令行工具,用于安装、创建和分享为 Node.js 编写的 JavaScript 代码包。在 npm 上有许多开放源码软件包,所以在项目启动之前,需要一些时间来探索,这样你就不会最后重新创建轮子来处理像日期或从 API 获取数据这样的事项。

在这个课程中,你将学习使用 npm 的基本知识,包括如何使用 package.json 和如何管理已安装的依赖项。

Node.js 是一个 JavaScript 运行时,它允许开发人员在 JavaScript 中写入后端(服务器侧)程序。Node.js 有几个内置的模块——小型、独立的程序——来帮助实现这一点,一些核心模块包括像服务器一样运作的 HTTP 和文件系统,一个读取和修改文件的模块。

在上一组课程中,你学到了怎么从 npm下载和管理软件包。这些软件包是较小模块的集合,可以帮助你构建更大更复杂的程序。

Express 是一个轻量级的网络应用程序框架,是最受欢迎的 npm 软件包之一。Express 使为应用程序创建服务器和处理路由变得更容易。当用户访问某个端点例如

/blog
时,把人们引导到正确的页面。

在这个课程中,你将学习 Node 和 Express 的基础知识,包括如何创建服务器、处理不同的文件,以及处理不同的浏览器请求。

MongoDB 是一个存储你可以在应用程序中使用的 JSON 文件(或记录)的数据库应用程序。不同于SQL,另一种类型的数据库。Mongo 是一个非关系型或 “NoSQL” 数据库。这意味着 Mongo 将所有相关数据存储在一个记录中,而不是像 SQL 数据库中那样在许多预设表中存储数据。

Mongoose 是一个广泛使用的 npm 包,通常和 Mongo 一起安装。通过 Mongoose,你可以使用 JavaScript 对象而不是 JSON ,这样就更容易与 Mongo 配合使用。此外,它允许你创建文件架构,即 schema,所以你不会意外地保存错误的数据类型并出现 bug。

在 MongoDB 和 Mongoose 课程中,你将学习处理数据的基本知识,包括如何建立模型,保存、删除并在数据库中查找文档。

你之前用过 API,但是现在你知道 npm、Node、Express、MongoDB 和 Mongoose,是时候创建应用了。用你到现在所学的所有知识来创建 5 个不同的微服务,这些微服务是使用范围有限的小应用。

在创建这些项目后,你会有 5 个很酷的微服务 API,你可以向朋友、家人和潜在的雇主展示。同时,你也会获得后端开发和 APIs 认证。

浏览我们的其他免费认证 (我们建议你按顺序学习)

Back End Development and APIs

A stack of servers

Until this point, you've only used JavaScript on the front end to add interactivity to a page, solve algorithm challenges, or build an SPA. But JavaScript can also be used on the back end, or server, to build entire web applications.

Today, one of the popular ways to build applications is through microservices, which are small, modular applications that work together to form a larger whole.

In the Back End Development and APIs Certification, you'll learn how to write back end apps with Node.js and npm (Node Package Manager). You'll also build web applications with the Express framework, and build a People Finder microservice with MongoDB and the Mongoose library.

Courses

npm (Node Package Manager), is a command line tool to install, create, and share packages of JavaScript code written for Node.js. There are many open source packages available on npm, so before starting a project, take some time to explore so you don't end up recreating the wheel for things like working with dates or fetching data from an API.

In this course, you'll learn the basics of using npm, including how to work with the package.json and how to manage your installed dependencies.

Node.js is a JavaScript runtime that allows developers to write backend (server-side) programs in JavaScript. Node.js comes with a handful of built-in modules — small, independent programs — that help with this. Some of the core modules include HTTP, which acts like a server, and File System, a module to read and modify files.

In the last set of courses you learned to install and manage packages from npm, which are collections of smaller modules. These packages can help you build larger, more complex applications.

Express is a lightweight web application framework, and is one of the most popular packages on npm. Express makes it much easier to create a server and handle routing for your application, which handles things like direct people to the correct page when they visit a certain endpoint like

/blog
.

In this course, you'll learn the basics of Node and Express including how to create a server, serve different files, and handle different requests from the browser.

MongoDB is a database application that stores JSON documents (or records) that you can use in your application. Unlike SQL, another type of database, Mongo is a non-relational or "NoSQL" database. This means Mongo stores all associated data within one record, instead of storing it across many preset tables as in a SQL database.

Mongoose is a popular npm package that is often installed alongside Mongo. With Mongoose, you can use plain JavaScript objects instead of JSON, which makes it easier to work with Mongo. Also, it allows you to create blueprints for your documents called schemas, so you don't accidentally save the wrong type of data and cause bugs later.

In the MongoDB and Mongoose courses, you'll learn the fundamentals of working with persistent data including how to set up a model, and save, delete, and find documents in the database.

You've worked with APIs before, but now that you know npm, Node, Express, MongoDB, and Mongoose, it's time to build your own. Draw on everything you've learned up to this point to create 5 different microservices, which are smaller applications that are limited in scope.

After creating these, you'll have 5 cool microservice APIs you can show off to friends, family, and potential employers. Oh, and you'll have a shiny new Back End Development and APIs Certification, too.

Browse our other free certifications (we recommend doing these in order)